June 28, 2017
Contact: Lara Slifko (602)340-7235
PDFPrint Press Release

[PHOENIX, AZ] –The Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education recognized the outstanding public service of four Arizona attorneys and the top 50 pro bono attorneys at the State Bar of Arizona’s annual convention.

“The Foundation is very privileged to honor these individuals for their gift of public service. In addition to their outstanding contributions to the legal profession, the recipients of these awards represent the spirit of equal access to justice with their compassion and dedication to Arizona’s communities,” shared Dr. Kevin Ruegg, Executive Director of the Foundation.

Award winners were selected based on nominations from their peers and colleagues and were presented with their awards during a special luncheon at the State Bar's annual convention in Tucson on June 15th, 2017. Those recognized include:

Walter E. Craig Distinguished Services Award

Don Bivens

Snell & Wilmer, LLP

William E. Morris Pro Bono Service Award

Lee Bennett

Strategic Law & Management, LLC

Foundation for Justice Award

Steven Hirsch

Quarles & Brady

Mark Santana Law Related Education Award

Bruce Chalk

Pima County Attorney’s Office

The Top 50 Pro Bono Attorney Awards

Steven Biddle

Jay B. Bidwell

Lance Broberg

Kenneth Burford

Melvin C. Cohen

C. Lincoln Combs

James Lyman Cork II

Jennison Cox

Carrie P. Cravatta

Quintin Cushner

Ian K. Douglas

Gregory L. Droeger

Nathan Andrew Finch

Catherine Fine

Elizabeth Fleming

Kenneth Frakes

Andrew McKenzie Graham

Nathan B. Hannah

Ed Hermes

Philip Higdon

Jillian Hindo

Lori A. Johnston

Mark Kittredge

Scott Klundt

Emery K. La Barge

James L. Leather

Peggy LeMoine

Kris Leonhardt

Ronda C. Lustman

Philip Jay McCarthy Jr.

Francis Susan McGinnis

Janet Leslie McLean

Kenneth E. Moyer

Richard Palmatier

Nicole Payne

Debra Phelan

Jeremy Thomas Poryes

Julia M. Prinz

Gary E. Robbins

Felicia Shumacher

Joe E. Smith

M. Jan Smith-Florez

Leslie G. Spira-Pinder

Warren J. Stapleton

Kathleen Stillman

John J. Trebon

Geoffrey K. Ulreich

Jennifer Lynn Walston

Jeffrey S. Wohlford

Julie Woodward

About the Service Awards

The Walter E. Craig Distinguished Service Awards is awarded for manifesting adherence to the highest principles and traditions of the legal profession and service to the public in the community in which he or she lives. The William E. Morris Pro Bono Service Award is given for extraordinary contributions in making legal services available to persons who otherwise could not afford them and thereby focuses public awareness on the substantial contributions Arizona attorneys make to the community. The Foundation for Justice Award is awarded to the attorney who has devoted expertise and time so that the system of justice has increased access and opportunity for those most vulnerable. The Mark Santana Law Related Education Award recognizes exceptional contributions of Arizona attorneys or law firms in furthering education and understanding of the role of the law in our democratic society, this award focuses public awareness on the contributions that attorneys provide to the community.

About the Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education

The Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education provides technical and financial assistance to legal aid organizations, schools and community groups. The Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education promotes “Access to Justice for All Arizonans” by supporting law-related education and free legal services and by promoting statewide collaborative efforts.

Helpful Websites:

• Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education:

• Pictures and Biographies of the Award Winners:

Foundation Awards

- ### -