June 18, 2008
Contact: Chris Groninger 602-340-7235
PDFPrint Press Release

Five Outstanding and Top Fifty Pro Bono Attorneys Receive High Honors
[PHOENIX, AZ] –The Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education will recognize the outstanding public service of five Arizona attorneys and the top 50 pro bono attorneys later this week at the State Bar of Arizona’s annual convention.
“The Foundation is very privileged to honor these individuals for their gift of public service.  In addition to their outstanding contributions to the legal profession, the recipients of these awards represent the spirit of equal access to justice with their compassion and dedication to Arizona’s communities,” shared Dr. Kevin Ruegg, Executive Director of the Foundation.
Award winners were selected based on nominations from their peers and colleagues and will be presented with their awards during a special luncheon and reception on Thursday.  Those to be recognized include:
Walter E. Craig Distinguished Services Award
Mr. William Michael Flood
Jennings Strouss & Salmon
William E. Morris Pro Bono Service Award
Ms. Debra Hill
Osborn Maledon, PA
Foundation for Justice Award
Commissioner Frederic Dardis
Arizona Superior Court in Pima County
Mark Santana Law Related Education Award
Ms. Pam Gates
Mr. Bill Gates
The Top 50 Pro Bono Attorney Awards will be presented to:
Stefanie Abalos - Phoenix
Larry Adamson - Tucson
Jennifer Barnes - Tempe
Donald Bayles Jr - Flagstaff
Hon. Tom Berning - Tucson
Samantha Blevins - Phoenix
Jay Calhoun - Tempe
Jeffrey Cates - Scottsdale
Norma Classen - Flagstaff
Stasy Click - Phoenix
Carolyn Crook - Scottsdale
Hector Diaz - Phoenix
Tait Elkie - Scottsdale
Veronika Fabian - Tempe
Juan Flores - Sierra Vista
Jeanie Geiser - Tucson
Charles George - Bisbee
James Glew - Phoenix
Mareen Goodwin - Paradise Valley
Anne Graham-Bergin - Tucson
Robert Howard Jr. - Scottsdale
Steve Itkin - Tucson
Stephanie Jackson - Phoenix
Kelly Johnson - Phoenix
Emily Kile - Scottsdale
Barry Kirschner - Tucson
Todd Lang - Phoenix
Albert Lassen - Springerville
Patrick Ledger - Benson
Phillip Jay McCarthy Jr. - Flagstaff
Kate McMillan - Tucson
Robert Myers - Phoenix
Judith O’Neill - Mesa
Janice Palmer - Chandler
Christopher Rike - Scottsdale
Jim Sakrison - Tucson
David Sanderson - Phoenix
Ellen Seaborne - Flagstaff
Daniel Siegel - Phoenix
Skip Skinner - Tucson
Tom Slutes - Tucson
Spencer Smith - Tucson
Alan Solot - Tucson
Ron Sommer - Tucson
Shawn Stone - Phoenix
Robert Teague - Phoenix
Merle Turchik - Tucson
David West - Tucson
Wendy White - Flagstaff
Stephen Winerip - Phoenix

About the Service Awards
The Walter E. Craig Distinguished Service Awards is awarded for manifesting adherence to the highest principles and traditions of the legal profession and service to the public in the community in which he or she lives.  The William E. Morris Pro Bono Service Award is given for extraordinary contributions in making legal services available to persons who otherwise could not afford them and thereby focuses public awareness on the substantial contributions Arizona attorneys make to the community. The Foundation for Justice Award is awarded to the attorney who has devoted expertise and time so that the system of justice has increased access and opportunity for those most vulnerable. The Mark Santana Law Related Education Award recognizes exceptional contributions of Arizona attorneys or law firms in furthering education and understanding of the role of the law in our democratic society, this award focuses public awareness on the contributions that attorneys provide to the community.  
About the Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education
The Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education provides technical and financial assistance to legal aid organizations, schools and community groups.  The Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education promotes “Access to Justice for All Arizonans” by supporting law-related education and free legal services and by promoting statewide collaborative efforts. 
Helpful Websites:
·                                 Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education:  
·                                 Pictures and Biographies of the Award Winners: 
·                                 State Bar of Arizona:
- ### -