## 2006 Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education's 2006 Award Winners

June 15, 2006

Contact: <u>Lara Slifko</u> (602) 340-7235

Annually at the State Bar Convention, the Foundation honors individuals who have been recognized by their peers as providing extraordinary commitment and service to the people of Arizona. On June 15th at the Arizona Biltmore Resort, the Foundation will hold their annual awards luncheon where the Walter E. Craig Distinguished Service Award and William E. Morris Pro Bono Service Award will be presented. This year's recipients are Ted Schmidt and Tom Roberts respectively.

Walter E. Craig Distinguished Service Award – awarded to the attorney who has manifested adherence to the highest principles and traditions of the legal profession and service to the public in the community in which he/she lives. Past recipients include: 2005 Daniel McAuliffe; 2004 Paul Eckstein; 2003 Peter Baird; 2002 Mark Harrison; 2001 Larry Hammond.

William E. Morris Pro Bono Service Award – awarded to recognize extraordinary contributions by an Arizona attorney in making legal services available to persons who otherwise could not afford them, and thereby focusing public awareness on the substantial voluntary services by Arizona attorneys in this area. Past recipients include: 2005 Scott Gan; 2004 David Engelman; 2003 Pamela Liberty; 2002 Alyce Pennington; 2001 Luis Ochoa.

On the evening of June 15th at the Arizona Biltmore Resort, the Foundation will honor this year's Foundation for Justice recipient and Arizona's top 50 pro bono attorneys. The Foundation for Justice Award was created in 2005 by the Foundation for those who have devoted their expertise and time to changing the justice system to promote access and opportunity for those most vulnerable. Our 2006 recipient is Hon. Colin Campbell.

The Top Pro Bono attorneys have shown leadership, commitment and generosity in providing legal assistance to pro bono clients in Arizona.

## **Top 50 Pro Bono Attorneys:**

Peter Akmajian Stephen W. Anderson Elizabeth Berenguer Erin Bradham Lindsay Brew	Benjamin Burnside Stacy Rupprecht Butler Cristina M. Chait George Jay Coleman III Michelle Corse	Emily Dillof Daniel E. Durchslag Karl Elledge Matthew P. Fischer III Stuart J. Gerrich		Todd Jackson Lowell Jensen Peter Kelly Kelly Lynn Kral Tracy M. Krall
Cindy Kuhn Todd F. Lang Phillip (Jay) McCarthy Charles E. McTheny Anthony Wade	Ryan Moore Kenneth E. Moyer Robert Nelson Carl Piccarreta Anita Wightman Pitroff	Marilyn Pollard Gary M. Restaino Dan Rylander Maria Sampson Larry Scheafer	Michael J.Shew Jennifer W. Shick Susan Slasor Tim Struse Gary Urman	Kathryn L. Van Etten Marissa Fay Watson Susan M. Wissink

Merrill

Oary Officer John E. Fork

## **About the Foundation**

The Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education plays a leading role in preparing Arizona students for civic responsibility. The Foundation reaches more than 100,000 children by training teachers, school resource officers and probation officers about our laws, justice system and the foundations of democracy. It is also home of *LawForKids.org*, America's first Web site dedicated to teaching students about the law. The Foundation also awards nearly \$2 million in grants to more than 20 non-profit organizations providing legal services to those in need, so all people in Arizona can have a voice in our justice system.

## **Helpful Websites**

Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education: <a href="http://www.azflse.org">http://www.azflse.org</a>

Volunteer Lawyer's Program: <a href="http://www.vlparizona.org">http://www.vlparizona.org</a>

Florence Immigration and Refugee Rights Program: <a href="http://www.firrp.org/">http://www.firrp.org/</a>